Our History

The main campus of the South Central Montana Regional Mental Health Center (MHC) opened its doors in September 1971 with 8 employees on staff, including founding physicians Dr. Bryce Hughett and Dr. Donald Harr.

The vision of Doctors Hughett and Harr continues through the work of today’s MHC employees from 13 sites. A team of 90 qualified psychiatrists, nurse practitioners, Licensed Mental Health Therapists, Licensed Addictions Counselors, psychiatric nurses, case mangers, mental health workers, outreach liaisons and support staff offer the largest, most comprehensive adult outpatient mental health and addiction services and treatment in South Central Montana. The ten counties served by MHC have a population of nearly 205,000 and cover an approximate area of 21,000 square miles, which is larger than the entire states of Maryland and Vermont combined.

MHC professionals specialize in promoting all areas of mental wellness. Managing issues of stress, grief, anxiety, depression, chemical dependency and other addictions are just a few of the services offered. Each year thousands of men, women and children are assisted in their search for solutions.

Regardless of economic, educational or social status, one U.S. citizen in four suffers from a mental disorder. Professionals at the Mental Health Center believe seeking help should be an easy and positive experience.

Greeted with confidentiality, clients are referred to staff professionals with the expertise to provide the emotional support and practical help that will meet the individual’s needs. MHC staff is committed to offering hope and sharing solutions with every person we serve.

South Central Montana Regional Mental Health Center (MHC) Mission Statement: The Region III Mental Health Center is a registered non-profit 501 (c) (3) corporation dedicated to the establishment, development and maintenance of high quality mental health and chemical dependency care in South Central Montana.

Key Staff Members

Rod Ostermiller – Executive Director
Carl Eby – Deputy Director
Alisha Belmontez – Finance Director
Dr. Bruce Whitworth – Medical Director

Board of Directors

Carl Seilstad, Chair (Fergus County)
Lynne Turner Fitzgerald, Vice Chair (Member at Large)
Nicole Borner, Secretary (Musselshell County)
Scott Blain (Carbon County)
Bob Lehfeldt (Golden Valley County)
Jim Moore (Judith Basin County)
Sig Pugrud (Petroleum County)
Mark Crago (Stillwater County)
Bill Wallace (Sweet Grass County)
Adam Jones (Wheatland County)
Don Jones (Yellowstone County)
Bill Kennedy (Member at Large)
James Corson (Member at Large)
Todd Hanna (Member at Large)